Replies

• Great discussion topic! I always keep at least one to see if I can improve on it with the next build.
  • Only have two builds under my belt. Proud of both of them. Second build is sturdy but still needs a bit of tweaking. First build is in pieces right now. Needs a lot of work. Not going to give up on it. I'll either have a playable guitar or it'll fall apart from all my unskilled efforts to make it better.
    I also have the Swamp Witch guitar I won at the CBG fest in St Louis and the four string guitar I bought there as well. Really like them both. Forget who the builders of the four stringer is. Bought a neck from them as well.

So I'd say I got three keepers and a hopeful.

• Ha!   I was going to count and then saw Phrygian's response.   Ditto. 

• Interesting question Jabes. I fight a constant existential struggle between my love of new instruments to play and my loathing of clutter...

I've been making these for 13 months now, and I'm on build 22. Of those I've given away 5, sold 7 and kept my licence plate guitar, one 3 string and one 4 string CBG. All the rest have been scrapped for parts. The first guitar I built which I was pretty much totally happy with (and felt the quality was good enough to sell) was number 12.

Improvements tend to crop up on pretty much every build, and I am in the process of making a new 4 stringer which will replace my current one.

• i  own  65  to  68   guitars  ..  mostly   old contactable teiscos  etc .. ..  and   a  few  on my  own  builds  ..

but    what  some  may   find surprising   is,,,,  ......;

i  do  not  own  my own  swamp witch  .

simply   because  ..  i  get  to  play  them all  .

and   psychologically ,    i  build each  one ,  one at a time  .   as  if  its   is   mine  ,    but  built   with the  customer  in  mind as their  first  without  referring to  a  previous  model  . 

this adds   personalisation   , and  personal   focus  .  and avoids  the cookie cutter syndrome  .