This is my first build and I will be learning to play on it as well. Originally I planned a 24.5" scale but a little miscalculation left me with ~ 21-21.5" from nut to saddle. All things considered, how many frets should I plan for? It will probably be tuned to an open G and I will use a slide + doing some chording.

The neck is red oak, fingerboard is walnut. Pics of where I am so far:

You need to be a member of Cigar Box Nation to add comments!

Join Cigar Box Nation

Email me when people reply –

Replies

• Here's a link to a picture of the short scale guitar I built.  I really liked it.

http://www.cigarboxnation.com/photo/ashton-box-git?context=user

It was pretty close to 20" scale length and you can see that I only put on fret markers in positions 2, 3, 5, 7, 10, 12, 15, 17, 19, 22.  That is a pretty small box so I fit more than you will.  Practically, I hardly ever played above fret 12 anyway.

It was tuned DAD and was a real joy to play.  With that tuning and the frets marked like I did, it only had sweet notes to play.  The string tension was just right for sliding or fingering notes.  Sadly, I don't remember what gauge strings I used, but the were all wound strings from an acoustic pack.  I'd guess the A D G strings but you might need a little trial and error to test.

Like I said, the 20" scale was great fun to play.  Very fast and a nice tone.  I put up a video here but something is wrong and it won't play.  I'll have to see if I still have the original file on my phone or tablet.

• This forum has me changing my mind on the guitar on my bench right now. I was going to build a gibson scale guitar but now, i'm thinking 20 3/4 like my lap steel. Short scale seem like it might work well with open E tuning with some fat string. A small slide guitar with fat strings .Hate to chop the neck of and be disappointed. Roll of the dice!

• how far down the box does 21' put your bridge mate?

• About 1 3/4" from the edge.

• Wormil,

Don't cut anything else yet!