Hello folks, my name is Tony and I'm brand new to CBG's  I have been playing 6 string for about 6 months and I'm doing fine with the basic chords.  D, G, C, A7, Em enough to make some decent sounding music.  I recently purchased a beautiful 4 string CBG with frets.  It also has an electic pickup.  My guitar is tuned D G B E.  When I try to play chorded songs that sound good on the 6 string, they don't sound anything like that on the 4 string.  I have tried to find 4 string chord charts and haven't had any luck.  Most of the FREE lessons for CBG's are for 3 string guitars and slides.  I tried using a bottle neck slide on my 4 string and it doesn't seem to work very well.  Do I need to buy a 3 string CBG to learn how to play?  I would like to play country songs or church songs with my CBG.  Can someone lead me in the right direction on finding chords or lessons for the 4 string beginner.  Did I make a mistake starting off with a 4 string CBG?

Thanks,
Tony

You need to be a member of Cigar Box Nation to add comments!

Join Cigar Box Nation

Email me when people reply –

Replies

• I understand your position and after building a 4 string I can tell you I was not impressed with the DGBE tuning at all. I think for me the open G tuning is the best GDGB.  I have just been in to the building lately so now trying to play the thing I guess just look up banjo chords and you should be fine. I may try that to see how it sounds. I am trying to do the same thing with county type church songs.

• this thread is over 8 years old... chances are they dont visit here anymore..